American Society for Aesthetics

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Call for Papers

American Society for Aesthetics

2018 Annual Meeting

October 10 – 13, 2018

Fairmont Royal York Hotel

Toronto, Ontario, Canada


Submission deadline:  January 15, 2018



Papers on any topic in aesthetics or the philosophy of art are invited, as well as proposals for panels, author-meets-critics sessions, and other special sessions. We welcome volunteers to serve as session chairs and commentators.

Submissions on the theme, The Tenor of the Times: Art in the Present Moment, as well as topics in Art and Aboriginality, Canadian Cinema, Changing Artworld Institutions, and Urban Aesthetics are especially encouraged.

Papers should not exceed 3,000 words, should be accompanied by a 250-word abstract, and must be prepared for anonymous review. 

Proposals for panels, author-meets-critics sessions, and other special sessions should include 500-word abstract providing a brief description of the topic or theme, plus a document including the names and affiliations of all proposed participants, and abstracts of all papers.  We are particularly interested in panels that are promote general discussion between panelists and audience.

Please note that all program participants (including paper presenters, panelists, commentators, and chairs) must be members of ASA. Submissions from non-members are welcome. However, all participants must become members of the ASA within 30 days of their paper’s acceptance or of their acceptance of being a commentator or chair. Anybody who is not a member within 30 days of acceptance will be replaced on the program. All participants must register for the conference.

Please submit any inquiries to the Program Chair, Dr. Deborah Knight (Department of Philosophy, Queen’s University at Kingston, Canada), at

All submissions must be PDF or Word files. You may submit a paper or be a member of a proposed panel, but not both. A paper cannot be presented at both a regional meeting of the ASA and the Annual Meeting. Submissions not meeting the requirements will not be considered.

For the first time, funds will be available for up to six Irene H. Chayes Travel grants, from the American Society for Aesthetics, for paper presenters with no other access to travel funds. Please check the box indicating that you would like to be considered for a Irene H. Chayes Travel Grant.

Also for the first time, two Irene H. Chayes New Voices Awards will be avaiable.  Please check the box indicating that you would like to be considered for an Irene H. Chayes New Voices Award.

Full-time students who are presenting a paper or a panel presentation on the program at the Annual Meeting will receive a travel stipend. Please check the box indicating that you will be a full-time student in Fall 2018. Full-time students in Spring 2018 who complete the PhD and are unemployed in Fall 2018 will also receive travel stipend.

Information on the Irene H. Chayes Travel Grants, the Irene H. Chayes New Voices Awards, and Student Travel Grants can be found at:

The ASA supports the goals of the Gendered Conference Campaign (GCC). In selecting panels the Program Committee will consider whether steps have been taken to support the GCC, as evidenced by the participation of women and members of other historically underrepresented and excluded groups.

Conference sessions will be held in the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto, Canada, and the normal practice is for participants to lodge in the hotel. (A group rate for the ASA meeting will be available). The hotel’s meeting rooms, business center, main entrance, self-parking, registration desk, restaurant and fitness center entrance are accessible for those with mobility limits, and accessible guest rooms are available. Prospective participants are welcome to contact the Program Chair at any point to discuss how we can best offer accessibility accommodation.

We look forward to seeing you in Toronto!